Colchester Historical Society
COLCHESTER HISTORICAL SOCIETY 2014 CALENDARS are now available.
The 2014 limited edition calendar is dedicated to the memory of founding member, Stanley Moroch. Images featured in the 2014 calendar include an ice storm in 1909, J.N.Adams Hardware and Grocery Store circa 1890, the Sons of Daniel Boone in 1920, the Goldman Grocery Store and Kalmanwitz Fish Market circa 1910, the Harley Buell Pharmacy circa 1890’s as well as a view of the center of Colchester in the 1870’s.
The large 2014 calendar has thirteen unique images as well as generous space for recording those important appointments. This indispensable and collectable calendar can be purchased for only $12.00.
There are a limited number of 2014 calendars still available. The Colchester Historical Society 2014 Calendars can be purchased at the Colchester Historical Society Museum, Copies Plus, the Cragin Memorial Library, Tim’s Bistro, Peg’s Diner, and Nathan Liverant and Son Antiques, all located in Colchester. For more information or to place a mail order please contact us by calling 860 608-2911 or by email: email@example.com
THE COLCHESTER HISTORICAL SOCIETY MUSEUM
WILL BE CLOSED FROM JANUARY 4- APRIL 5, 2014
We look forward to your visit in the Spring.
An exhibit of rare photographs of Colchester captured by local resident and pharmacist, Earl Holmes continues until the end of the year. In his early 1920′s photographs, Holmes recorded not only everyday life in the center of town, but rare images of the first paving of South Main Street. His unique images depict the machinery and process used to pave the dirt road for the first time.
Holmes’ pharmacy, located in the center of Colchester, gave him a prime vantage point to capture the local residents, the change of seasons and the character of the 1920′s. In addition to Holmes’ photographs, the Colchester Historical Society will be featuring his films, shot in the early 1930′s. Join us on this unique journey back in time. The Colchester Historical Society Museum is located at 24 Linwood Avenue (adjacent to the Cragin Memorial Library). Parking behind the library. Photography exhibit continues through 2014.